Integration Permissions

Sharing a file to Workplace using a cloud storage integration doesn't affect the permissions of that file. If a member of your Workplace community doesn't have permission to view a file, they won't see a preview or have access to that content.

This article is only applicable to admins on Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
To see the integrations that have access to your information, visit Integrations in your Admin Panel. There, you'll be able to see the integrations that you've enabled for your Workplace account.
On this page, you'll see all the integrations your admins have enabled that have access to some of your information. This includes integrations built by third parties and custom integrations set up by the admins of your organization. If you want to know more about what these integrations are and what information they have access to, contact your Workplace admin.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
To check which permissions the integrations you've enabled have access to:
  1. From your Admin Panel, click Integrations > Permissions & Data.
  2. From there, you'll be able to see all the integrations enabled in your community. If you click on the individual integrations, you'll be able to see which permissions they have access to. You'll also be able to change those permissions.
Note: For a custom integration access token, permissions that haven't been used in the last 60 days will be revoked and admins of the community notified. Admins will see a notification within the Integrations Permissions Panel in the Admin Panel when the permissions for a custom integration have been changed following this process.
Was this information helpful?
If a file is public to everyone in your organization, coworkers who have enabled the cloud storage integration for their Workplace account will see a rich preview and/or the files' title. If the file isn't public, they'll see a prompt to connect their accounts to determine if they have permissions to view the title and/or a preview from within Workplace.
Workplace will only show a preview and/or title to those who have permission to view the file. If a coworker hasn't enabled the integration, they'll have the choice to enable the integration and see the previews.
Note: Content integration file previews don't work in multi-company groups. The files will still appear as URL links.
Keep in mind that if a file is encrypted/password protected, no preview will be shown.
Was this information helpful?
If you change the permission of the file from private/accessible to some to public to everyone at your company:
  • For users of Workplace Advanced:
Since the file wasn't public to everyone when you originally made the post, people will only see the icon of the file type and they'll be prompted to confirm they have permission to view the file. Only people who have permission will then be able to see the preview and access the file. If you change the permission to public, nothing will change in the preview, but everyone will be able to access the file.
  • For users of Workplace Essential:
Only coworkers who have permission and have enabled integration will be able to see the preview and access the file. If you change the permission to public, nothing changes in the preview, but everyone will be able to access the file. If a coworker hasn't enabled the integration, they'll have the choice to enable the integration and see previews going forward.
If you change the permission of the file from public so that everyone at your company can access the file, to private/accessible by some:
  • For users of Workplace Advanced:
Since the file is public to everyone at the time the post is made, everyone will see a preview and/or title. If you change the permission to private/accessible by some, previews that show images remain the same since they were captured at the moment you first made the post. However, only people who have permission will be able to access the file when they click on the link. Users may be prompted to log in to the cloud services provider.
  • For users of Workplace Essential:
Same as above if integrations are enabled.
Was this information helpful?